top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNatalie Alexandra Tse

Happy Mother's Day 2020! 母亲节快乐!

It’s Mother’s Day today! Second year of motherhood for me with bubba no. 2 coming my way this August! What a life changing experience it has been and will continue to be! Wanted to kickstart this project with a song I remember fondly of as a child. It’s Chinese tune titled mian yi 棉衣.

Lyrics here: 新的棉花新的布 妈妈给我缝衣服 棉衣穿在我身上 妈妈脸上笑嘻嘻 Fresh cotton is made into new cloth Mother sews a new piece of clothing for me Seeing the cotton clothes on me Mother’s face lits up with a smile [translations my own] The ambience of the piece relates to me in terms of a mother’s unconditional provision of love for her child. I dedicate this to my popo 婆婆 who unconditionally brought me up as my main caregiver, as well as mothers and mother figures out there for your unconditional love! A xinyao version of the song by veteran Liang Wern Fook is really beautiful and can be found here: https://youtu.be/IOVAk2r4Imo Dear parents, the video was done using a free app and I’m an amateur in singing, harp and ukulele. But it’s lots of fun and there are many ways to create musical experiences for you and your lil’ ones at home! Harp, ukulele and vocals by myself. Video collage by the app Acapella maker. Sound and video mixing by Andy Chia. Stay connected with me to find out more!

81 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Happy Teacher's Day 2020!

Songs, connect and celebrate. And here we are, jamming over the ever-familiar "Happy Birthday" tune in our little made-up Teacher's Day song. Thank you teachers, who shape us and our lil' ones as who

bottom of page