top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNatalie Alexandra Tse

"What the lullabies we sing to our children reveal about us" - National Geographic


-A story with beautiful photos by Hannah Reyes Morales


https://www.nationalgeographic.com/magazine/2020/12/what-the-lullabies-we-sing-to-our-children-reveal-about-us-feature/


Faye, one of the ladies who made ROAR possible shared this article with me. While my headspace has not been the most peaceful recently, it was important for me to record and share my immediate sentiments scanning through this article.


Through live stories and photographs, the author demonstrated how lullabies are important security symbols for distraught mothers and their children.


I felt ashamed after reading it. Because "First Connections" is so different, so entitled.


While mothers in this story sang to their child to wish away war or forget fathers of their children, soothing themselves and their children, my work collected songs to recreate them in manners that made it musically literate for parent-children to attempt musicking at home.


My competitive upbringing in Singapore that was driven by meritocracy had resulted in me leaning towards the inquiry of "how do I be inspired by play songs/lullabies of other cultures to recreate them in bite-size manners for other families during pandemic times" - so that it's "learnable" but I have forgotten what "First Connections" meant in its fundamental form.


A timely and good read. Thank you, Faye, for sharing.



22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Happy Teacher's Day 2020!

Songs, connect and celebrate. And here we are, jamming over the ever-familiar "Happy Birthday" tune in our little made-up Teacher's Day song. Thank you teachers, who shape us and our lil' ones as who

bottom of page